Lorajean’s Magazine,: Tutorilal: How to make christmas salt dough “cookie” ornaments

Standard

Combine

1 cup salt

1 cup flour

(Seriously, that’s it! Super easy to remember, too.)

_____________________________________

Add Water

Just enough water to get the consistency of play dough; too much water makes it really difficult to roll and cut into shapes.

(I chilled my dough in the fridge to get it to roll better, but I probably could have added more flour and salt)

_____________________________________

Color

Add food coloring to get a gingerbread look.

I experimented till it turned a nice golden brown, but here is a guideline.

10 drops of yellow

8 drops of red

3 drops of green

(Optional: I added cinnamon & ginger mainly for smell, but the cinnamon does add a bit of color, too…I added at least a tablespoon of each, but the ornaments don’t smell anymore, so I’ll try adding more next time).

I added a lot of color to mine but they ended up darker after baking.  I think mine look a little more like chocolate cookies than gingerbread, but that also could be because I added blue and a little too much red…so, try out the recipe above, and change as you see fit.

via Lorajean’s Magazine,: Tutorilal: How to make christmas salt dough “cookie” ornaments.

Leave a Reply

